Dr Natasha Rogers received her medical degree from the University of Adelaide. She completed her Internal Medicine training at the Royal Adelaide Hospital and then trained in Nephrology at the Royal Darwin and Queen Elizabeth Hospitals.

She received her PhD in 2011 through the University of Adelaide in Professor Toby Coates' Transplant Immunology Laboratory in the Basil Hetzel Institute (Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Adelaide).

Dr Rogers undertook a postdoctoral fellowship (2011-2015) at the University of Pittsburgh, USA, at both the Starzl Transplant and Vascular Medicine Institutes under Drs Angus Thomson and Jeffrey Isenberg respectively. In 2015 she was appointed as Faculty in the Renal-Electrolyte Division at the University of Pittsburgh.

In 2016, Dr Rogers moved back to Australia to establish her own laboratory at the Westmead Institute for Medica Research. She is also a Staff Specialist at Westmead Hospital Renal Division, and Adjunct Assistant Professor at the Starzl Transplant Institute.


Immunology, Kidney disease, Diabetes, Transplantation


Obesity, Diabetes and Cardiovascular Disease, Infection and Immunological Conditions

Clinical Specialty


Research Focus

Acute kidney injury/renal ischemia reperfusion injury

Kidney transplantation

Dendritic cell biology

Diabetes and islet transplantation

Other Affiliations

Faculty of Medicine and Health > Westmead Clinical School > Westmead Clinical School

Awards and Recognition

1994 The Campbell Prize for Biochemistry, University of Adelaide

1994 The R.H. Whelan Prize for Physiology, University of Adelaide

1995 The SmithKline Beecham Prize for Microbiology, University of Adelaide

1995 The J.B. Cleland Prize for Pathology, University of Adelaide

1997 The Ruth Heighway Memorial Prize for Obstetrics, University of Adelaide

1998 The W.A. Dibden Prize for Psychiatry, University of Adelaide

1998 The Lister Medal for Surgery, University of Adelaide

2004 Post-graduate student prize, Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology

2004 Trevor Taylor Prize for Research, Royal Darwin Hospital

2006 John Chalmers Award for Research, Royal Australasian College of Physicians

2006 Pfizer Award for Research, Royal Australasian College of Physicians

2007 Kidney Health Australia Postgraduate Scholarship

2007 Australian Postgraduate Award, University of Adelaide

2007 NHMRC Postgraduate Scholarship

2010 Ross Wishart Award fort Research, Australian Society for Medical Research

2010 Young Investigator Award, Transplantation Society of Australia and New Zealand (TSANZ)

2010 President’s Prize, Best Young Investigator, TSANZ

2010 Young Investigator Award, Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology (ANZSN)

2010 AusBiotech GSK Student Excellence Award, South Australian and National Winner

2010 Don & Lorraine Jacquot Fellowship, Royal Australasian College of Physicians

2010 Early Career Fellowship, NHMRC

2010 Janssen-Cilag Travelling Fellowship, TSANZ

2010 Novartis Travelling Fellowship, ANZSN

2011 Basic Science Symposium Mentor-Mentee Award, The Transplantation Society

2011 Winner, PhD Research Excellence Award, South Australian Science Awards

2012 Young Investigator Award, American Transplant Congress

2012 Best postdoctoral presentation, University of Pittsburgh Research Day

2012 Best Basic Science Presentation, Advances in Organ Transplantation Fellows Conference

2014 Best Basic Science Presentation, Fellows Research Day, American Heart Association

2015 Best basic science presentation, University of Pittsburgh Acute Kidney Injury Symposium


University of Adelaide (undergraduate, graduate), Royal Adelaide Hospital (Basic Physician Training), Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Nephrology Advanced Training), University of Pittsburgh (postdoctoral)