June 30, 2023  Print

The team from WIMR’s Centre for Transplant and Renal Research (CTRR) were big winners at the recent annual scientific meeting of the Transplantation Society of Australia and New Zealand (TSANZ).

Congratulations to the following researchers:

Professor Natasha Rogers received the Josette Eris Award for Outstanding Contribution by a Woman in Transplantation.

Dr Ahmer Hameed, CTRR member, Transplant Surgical fellow and former PhD student was awarded the Presidents Prize for Clinical Research for his presentation titled, “Normothermic machine perfusion of kidneys prior to transplantation – a paired DCD analysis.”

Atharva Kale, PhD Student at CTRR, won the President’s Prize for the best basic science research as well as the People’s Choice award for the best basic science presentation, and the Early Career Researcher Award for basic science for her presentation titled, “Targeting CD47 Improves Islet Function and Survival.

Harry Robertson, PhD Student at CTRR, won the People’s Choice award (based on the votes of attendees at the meeting) for the best Clinical Research presentation.  His presentation was titled, “Pan-Organ Allograft Dysfunction.”

Hannah Wang won a young investigator award for her research: “A novel subset of memory-like CD127hi CD4+ Foxp3+ Treg Maintains islet-xenotransplant tolerance.

Professor Philip O’Connell, WIMR’s Executive Director and Director for the Centre for Transplant and Renal Research said, “This level of recognition for CTRR reflects WIMR’s standing as pioneers in this area, and the dedicated and talented group we have.  I extend my sincere congratulations to all the winners, and I am proud to lead such an extraordinary team.”